Popovers, Yorkshire Pudding and Dutch Baby’s oh my!
Not just for dinner any more.
Growing up when we had our first oven with with a window, the world of oven magic was never more exciting than when my Mom made yorkshire pudding.
The quietest 40 minutes ever as the four children in our chaotic home would huddle in front of the oven window and watch the magic mountains of golden happiness develop and grow.

from scratch club

Popovers are my latest food obsession.

Since having a baby a couple months ago, we’ve had guests staying with us periodically.  Despite being preoccupied with the baby, I love to cook and have been relieved to have something special for our visitors that doesn’t require excessive amounts of my time.  I have wonderful memories of eating popovers as a child and always assumed they were difficult to make.  Not true, in fact they are as simple as pancakes – maybe even easier.

I have been using Mark Bittman’s recipe for popovers, although I have found that most of the recipes I’ve come across are nearly identical.  I got the iPhone app for How to Cook Everything and love having it by my side in the kitchen.  Popovers seem to have a chemically delicate balance that if altered can produce a less-than-perfect outcome.  I don’t understand how they don’t…

View original post 271 more words

About nantucket kitchens

2 chefs sharing in the journey from stove to table at 3 restaurants 30 miles out at sea
This entry was posted in Food for thought + thoughts on food. Bookmark the permalink.